Writing Struggles #2

A non-writing writer is a monster courting insanity.

~Franz Kafka

Since my last writing update in December, Writing Struggles #1, I’ve done quite well. Then I was still trying to write my 2016 NaNo Story I dubbed, The Great Apocalypse, and now I’ve been writing something else.

This first draft is still one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. The first ten chapters don’t match the rest of the story, I’m beyond confused about the middle, and the ending seems to be a distant dream.

But for the first time, I actually feel as if I’m going to accomplish this first draft. I’m writing almost every day. I average about 3 pages on a work day (’cause having a day job is still the means of life right now,) and about 5 pages a day on an off day. Honestly, I should be writing more on off days, but I always feel like there is still too much I want to get to in any one day. I take comfort in the fact that I’ve written at least a little something and five pages is a good run for someone who’s writing by hand.

I’m still battling all the same demons, mental and physical, both with personal doubts and ones that are particular to the writing process. I write as much as I can when I can. I started writing this new story early February of 2017 and during my move took a couple of months off, but have picked it up again something fierce in late May. As it stands now I have over 160 pages.

Screenshot (45)

When I started I had hoped to be done with the first draft by the end of July or late August. Now, the way the writing is progressing, I may not be done until November or late January of 2018. Realizing that used to bother me, in the beginning. Now, I welcome the challenge. I’m determined to see this first draft done this year. The thought of one draft taking a year used to weigh me down, feel useless in my own goals and progress, but now I know that is a realistic goal. Not only have I accepted this project’s progression I have also set myself up for at least two more drafts after this first round is completed.

For once I like all my characters, the world has not bored me, and the overall idea still intrigues me enough to want to put whatever time it will take to perfect the story from beginning to end. For the first time I’m ready to spend the years I know it will require with one project.

In the past, no matter how much I loved the story I was working on that one truth always had me rethinking the whole project. I would worry about the time it would take out of my life even though that’s what I was trying to make my life become, and I would ask myself if that story if that project was really what I wanted my debut novel to be. Half the time the answer would be, no.

I’m still struggling with the act of writing, the story, the plot, the characters, basically everything that makes a novel, a novel. But that’s okay. I’m deep into part two, part three has more ideas waiting for it than not, and this story will be completed. Phase one is still going strong.

October Means Many Things (NaNo 2017 announcement)

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “Writing Struggles #2”

Leave a Reply

