January 2017 TBR

jan-tbr

I have set my 2017 Goodreads Reading Challenge to 30 books. In 2015 I read 35 and in 2016 I read 28 books so I figured 30 was a decent average to shoot for in 2017. However, I hope to read well beyond my goal. 

My shelves are a disaster and as such so are my TBR piles. But taking a closer look it only appears that I have tons of unread books overcrowding my space because over half of what I own are a part of a trilogy or a longer running series. It just isn’t possible to read the many other titles on the shelves until the first of their line has been read. So in 2017 I will be focusing on my series reading and only sneaking the occasional standalone in there every once in a while.

My restrictions: If I start a trilogy I have to finish said trilogy within the same month. If I begin a longer series (anything including three or more books), depending on the length of that series, I’ll give myself two months to read the entire thing.  Plus, I’ll be looking into reading some of the ARCs I possess along with whatever series I happen to be in the middle of.

To start me off I’ll be reading through Veronica Roth’s new book, Carve the Mark.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

The series I want to jump into first is The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo which includes, Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising.

Set primarily in the fictional country of Ravka, there is a form of magic that exists known as The Small Science. Those who can wield it are called Grisha, powerful practitioners considered to be a part of an exclusive class. Those who do not possess this power are called Otkazat’sya, and function normally as shopkeepers, laborers and soldiers.

To get me more in the mindset of branching out in my reading during 2017 I have added, Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple.

Eleanor knows she’s a mess. But today, she will tackle the little things. She will shower and get dressed. She will have her poetry and yoga lessons after dropping off her son, Timby. She won’t swear…TODAY WILL BE DIFFERENT is a hilarious, heart-filled story about reinvention, sisterhood, and how sometimes it takes facing up to our former selves to truly begin living.

A series I recently started is Darren Shan’s Zom-B series. I have knocked out the first two books, but this is a twelve book series and so for January I’ll be tackling the third in the line-up, Zom-B City. Another great thing about these books is that each one barely reaches 200 pages and as such they can be read within a couple of hours.

Once again, B must find a way to survive against brain-eating zombies –and now also against those who have seized control of the city. With danger lurking around every corner and no one to trust. When everyone around you is dead, where do you turn for help?

The last title I hope to finish this month is Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I did read this title last year, but it was such a fantastic read and the plot, characters and everything else about the book has stuck with me so decidedly throughout 2016 I have decided to give it another go in an attempt to quiet the scenes, snippets of dialogue, and my own voices begging me to re-read this title. I have no idea if this will be cut from the list or not, but I’m hoping to read all of these titles before January has left its mark.

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right…Carry On is a love letter to love stories and the power of words – to every ‘chosen one’ who ever had more on their mind than saving the world

I’m still blown away by the cover art for the Paperback version of Carry On! Feast your eyes.

pb-carry-on

So all in all 7 titles are in the running to beat January in the race against time. What do you plan to read for your January TBR or for 2017 as a whole? Have you read any of the books I’ve listed here? Happy Reading.

 

Writing Struggles: The Great Apocalypse #1
Book Review: Flashfall

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “January 2017 TBR”

Leave a Reply

