Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Stalking Jack the Ripper By Kerri Maniscalco 
jack

There is nothing more alluring to a reader than the promise of opening a new book and instantly being transported into the story without a second thought to your comfy chair, cup of coffee, or a single care for the outside world, but that is exactly what “Stalking Jack the Ripper” does with immeasurable ease. 

Instanly engaging and oddly satisfying. So far this has everything going for it. I wish I had this day off just to read this book.

My Goodreads Review

Kerri Maniscalco amazed me with her debut, “Stalking Jack the Ripper” which is a 336 paged, Hardcover under a title meant to become a trilogy. Everyone has heard of ‘Jack the Ripper’ even if they are unsure of how why they know of him. Maniscalco  manages to take a story probably told a few one too many times and transform it into something completely different from its roots, but still wholly recognizable.

‘Jack the Ripper’ is intriguing from this viewpoint of a serial killer, but what makes “Stalking Jack the Ripper” work is that Maniscalco gives the reader a view of the macabre from an accepted social perspective. We are taken through the story from the eyes of a young victorian lady who is studying the scientific art of forensics by way of a mortician. ‘Jack the Ripper’s’ victims find their way onto her table and from their Audrey Rose is pulled into the mystery, danger, unknown, and further into the macabre of her time.

I can’t get over the characters, the mystery, the setting, and the writing. All of it is abasolutely perfect. I don’t want tot stop reading. This sottry definitly deserves your unidivided attentiona nd trust me when I say you’ll want to give it freely.

My Goodreads Review

Maniscalco  has the main character greets us by doing what she loves. We enter the morgue with Audrey Rose holding a scaple, standing over a cadaver. These many scenes, as well as the crime scenes, are told in a lovely vivid way without going into overly gory detail. I found the writing to be perfectly well done. The main character’s actions, motivations, and thoughts come through perfectly clear.

Audrey Rose grows and changes beautifully and her companion, Thomas, who can come off a little a strong, but he is the perfect counterpart for Audrey Rose because you never fully settle on whether you like him or not, trust him or not whereas Audrey Rose you come to love almost immediately.

Un-put-down-able! Audrey Rose is trying to help solve the “Jack the Rpper” murders with the help of a dashing gentleman in the same study. So it has all the macabre, romance, mystery and it’s written beautifully.

In many titles, you figure the ending out too quickly or somehow the ending didn’t match up to the rest of story.  I don’t know about you, but being able to predict the ending in the first third of a book and having the rest of the story only cement your suspicions is not a good time. “Stalking Jack the Ripper” did a brilliant job at setting up several characters as the villain early. I loved trying to retain all the details I thought were clues as I was reading. By the time the end of the book arrived my suspicions were confirmed, however, Maniscalco, gave nothing away. She did a fabulous job with the plot having you doubt yourself over and over again. Even though she didn’t fully persuade me into believing I had the killer wrong she did a great job at convincing me that I wasn’t sure and that is what made all the difference.

I absolutely loved ever moment of “Stalking Jack the Ripper”. From the vivid victorian world, the fear of a murderer on the lose, the frustrations of limitation put on a lady, the should I or shouldn’t I that comes with falling for the opposite sex, and most of all, I loved the macabre both present in every scene and in the feelings of the characters throughout the story. I want the next book in the trilogy ASAP and I can’t wait until the day I get a chance to read this story to its conclusion.

If this is Kerri’s debut I can’t wait to see what we’ll get from her in the future! I love everything about this story so far.

My Goodreads Review

Sep-Dec 2016 TBR
My Goodreads

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

4 thoughts on “Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco”

Leave a Reply

