The Call by Peadar O Guilin

the-call

Ideas bounce off of one another, feed on each other and today you can’t read one title without having a few others come to mind. There’s no such thing as an original anymore, not really, but “The Call” has a flare all its own. 

“The Call” by Peadar O Guilin is a 320 page, Hardcover, epic read. Instantly you are transported to a world that is not our own. Nessa, the main character, lives in a world where an ancient race of people have been trapped in a different area of existence, but somehow still manage to ‘call’ the children of Nessa’s world into theirs.

I found the world building to be spot on. You know enough in the beginning to have you feel like you are right there with the character. The story doesn’t just follow the main protagonist, but a whole band of them throughout the story.

THREE MINUTES

You wake up alone in a horrible land. The Call has begun.

TWO MINUTES

The Sidhe are close.

ONE MINUTE

Nessa will be Called soon. No one thinks she has any chance to survive. But she’s determined to prove them wrong.

TIME’S UP

Could you survive the Call?

Each and every character is engaging and dynamic. Nothing is boring or flat and everything, and everyone has a purpose for being in the story. Peadar does a brilliant job with not overloading the reader, but not underwhelming them either. You could feel their fear and their every emotion acutely as you read.

I know that I never want to find myself in that reality of Ireland. Nothing is scarier than knowing that you will be called, pulled into the horrible land and power of the Sidhe and fight for your life, but not knowing when. The character’s train like soldiers, warriors trying to be prepared for their moment, but once they are called they find that nobody could ever truly be ready.

You follow many of the characters into their calling and Peadar proves over and over that the world he created is vibrant and pulsing with facts and elements far beyond the reader’s comprehension, his world is very much alive. Each individual called always sees a different area of the Sidhe’s map and each triumph or defeat is never executed in the same manner.

Nessa is one of the best main characters I’ve read in a while. You love who she loves, hates who she hates, and her fears, hopes, and determination is felt deeply. I wish I could read this book again for the first time. I already miss every character I came to know and I miss finding out the fate of each one of them.

“The Call” has everything. The plot is spot on, the characters are so human, the world is it’s own, and the interactions between the characters and to their situations both in their homeland and the other land of the Sidhe are felt and understood with every word.

This is a MUST READ! For anybody who has ever wondered at the strength and intentions of others, the strength of themselves, and the mysteries of the world brought about by stories of old.

Book Review: Nerve

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

3 thoughts on “The Call by Peadar O Guilin”

Leave a Reply

