Book Review: Love Letters To The Dead

While reading I found many truths throughout the book that I didn’t know I wanted voiced. Dellaira is able to put words to feelings and situations that would otherwise be understood by most, but not necessarily voiced by any of those who were experiencing such things.

Love Letters to the Dead

Love Letters to the Dead, by Ava Dellaira was one of those books, that when read, are either a hit or miss. With the initial talk and reviews about the book I was intrigued immediately. As time went on and more and more people read the book the reviews started to split. You would either read how someone loved the book or how they hated the book because the reader thought the main character was immature and spoke too passively. Whatever you focus on while reading I’m sure this book will give you a strong opinion.

My reading style is to try and immerse myself into the story as much as possible. I try to think of the character as someone else saying and going through these things I’m reading, but I’m trying to imagine their voice, their feelings, and their world as my own. For that reason I feel that I don’t always have that many negative things to say about the books I read. I become too involved with the story to try and pick it apart as I’m reading.

Having said that, Love Letters to the Dead, spoke to me on levels that I wasn’t aware of. Thinking back on it is rather odd because half of what the character, Laurel, goes through or feels I have never experienced personally. However, the way she describes her life is done in a way that I could connect to many aspects of my own. Dellaira did a beautiful job when trying to convey what’s it’s like to lose someone and how to deal with all that brings while still trying to grow up and figure out life.

While reading I found many truths throughout the book that I didn’t know I wanted voiced. Dellaira is able to put words to feelings and situations that would otherwise be understood by most, but not necessarily voiced by any of those who were experiencing such things.

I found that at times I wondered at why the character would choose to write out certain parts of her life. Sure, she was kind of treating these letters like a diary, but even with a diary you don’t always specify what you ate while you were sitting at a diner with the guy you liked.

All in all I found that reading through this book was one of the best decisions I have made in a long time. I would recommend this book to anybody and everybody no matter the age. There are many layers to what the main character has to say and even if you haven’t gone through exactly what Laurel has, you can still find something of your own  experiences that can apply to you through the words she speaks.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “Book Review: Love Letters To The Dead”

Leave a Reply

