NaNoWriMo 2015

Well writers, it’s that time of year again. We have once again come full circle to a time that makes us stay up way too late, stop socializing, we shy away from social media, like YouTube. We no longer play our favorite video games, we forget the TV for awhile, some of us even forget to eat (guilty), and the only thing, besides writing, we actually try to fit in is reading. 

What is this magical (crazed) time of year in which I speak? National Novel Writing Month. This writing challenge happens every November and for many writers the craziness started many months before the actual start date. NaNo Prep is just as important as the actual month long writing marathon that is NaNoWriMo.

The NaNoWriMo 2015 T-Shirt Logo
The NaNoWriMo 2015 T-Shirt Logo

I find that I am both pantser and planner when it comes to preparing for NaNo, any way you do it is acceptable to most, but the only thing anybody cares about is once November 1st hits, your word count better start at 0 and the goal of 1,667 words a day should be met.

This makes year 3 for me and I have not yet won, but I am more than determined to see my finished first draft by November 30th. I have enough of the beginning planned out to get me started and keep me going for a while. Then, when it’s time I’ll continue the planning just far out enough to keep me writing.

The self-made cover for my
The self-made cover for my “Novel”

I can’t wait to see how everybody does this year with NaNo. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up a weekly update on how I’m doing with the challenge and maybe in the process inspire all you out there not to give up. I am just one hour away from 12AM, one hour away from the official start of NaNoWriMo 2015. I do have a full time job so the time I actually have to sit down and write is not a whole lot. I know I’m not the only one out there in this same situation.

To my friends, family, and housemates: Please do not disturb unless under dire circumstances or if you’ve come to bring me food :D.

NaNoers, Please feel free to add me as a writing buddy on the NaNoWriMo Website. Keep in touch with me (Twitter) this year as we all go after this thing for reasons that are each our own.  I wish you all the luck and all the prose. I’ll be back by the end of NaNoWriMo Week 1 to tell you all how I’m getting on. Until then.

download (1)

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

