Book Review: The Never War (Pendragon BK3)

“Book three is but the stepping stone, the last of the niceties. The end of this book brings on so many feels that it’s hard to imagine what could possibly come next for Bobby, but let me tell you books 4-10 are nothing short of mind blowing and The Never War is truly the beginning of the end of all Bobby will see and go through.”

Follow me through space and time. To other worlds far more wonderful than our own in one of the best adventures there has ever been. Actually, don’t follow me, follow Bobby Pendragon and help save every world, every time, and everything that ever was and will be. 

The Never War

The third installment of the Pendragon series by D.J. MacHale, The Never War, is the book, the point in Bobby’s life and career as a traveler where his story fully takes off.

Bobby arrives on a territory called First Earth. I won’t say too much about First Earth for fear of giving any spoilers, but I will say Bobby has a chance to either save history as we know it or completely change everything. In my review of book two I said that Bobby had grown greatly as a lead character, but here his character completely shifts. Don’t be alarmed, he’s still the Bobby we’ve come to love, but he’s older and in The Never War, he has to learn something about himself that he didn’t know he would ever have to face. When he is confronted with that unknown part of himself Bobby isn’t sure how to handle it and this is where we see a piece of Bobby Pendragon shift forever.

Saint Dane is the villain in Bobby’s life and this is the man that is trying to bring down every time and every world that has ever been, is, or will be. This is the man Bobby is following across space and time to thwart his evil genius.  On First Earth Bobby is faced with the familiarity of his own territory, but somehow that is exactly what makes his mission harder, not to mention he has a partner that could go off the rail at any moment.

While reading this book I was forced to think about the travelers on a deeper level as our own history came into play. Bobby gets himself into the most impossible situations and meets the best and worst of every character you can imagine. In The Never War Bobby’s entire future is dictated by what he finds on First Earth and how he handles himself. I am falling more in love with this series through my second read through than I ever did the first time I read it when I was a kid. The Pendragon series is more interconnected, complicated, intricate, simple, and mind blowing than almost any other series I have ever read… well except for Harry Potter, sorry D.J. MacHale, but Rowling is Queen. If you loved the Harry Potter series than you are to love the Pendragon series too.

Book three is but the stepping stone, the last of the niceties. The end of this book brings on so many feels that it’s hard to imagine what could possibly come next for Bobby, but let me tell you books 4-10 are nothing short of mind blowing and The Never War is truly the beginning of the end of all Bobby will see and go through.

MORE ON BOBBY AND HIS WORLD:                              MY PREVIOUS REVIEWS:

The Pendragon Series                                                             Book One Review

The Merchant of Death (Book 1) Graphic Novel               Book Two Review

Before The War: Book One

Before The War: Book Two

Before The War: Book Three

Guide To The Territories of Halla

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “Book Review: The Never War (Pendragon BK3)”

Leave a Reply

