Book Review: The Merchant of Death (Pendragon: BK1)

J”…because in the end we are all apart of everything that has even been or ever will be. “


Follow me through space and time. To other worlds far more wonderful than our own in one of the best adventures there has ever been. Actually, don’t follow me, follow Bobby Pendragon and help save every world, every time, and everything that ever was and will be. 

Pendragon 1

The Pendragon series was written by D.J. MacHale and consist of 10 books. That may seem like too many, but trust me when I say these books hook you early and keep you reading way past any hour deemed decent. One moment you have just cracked the first book, The Merchant of Death, and the next thing you know you are reading the last sentence of book ten, The Soldiers of Halla.

I first read these books back when I was in Jr. High and I fell so much in love with them. With each chapter and every book my mind was blown over and over again. I couldn’t believe the intricate plotting MacHale put into the story. And as you read through the first book and then finish you wonder how in the world it could possibly get better from that, but it does. Oh, it does! I have recently picked up a copy of the series and have started to re-read them. Because it has been so long since I read them the first time, I don’t quite remember all of the important details much less the smaller ones, reading them again now is bringing all the more love for the stories and awe at the progression because it feels as if this could be the first time I’ve read them.

Bobby was given an impossible task that no 14 year old should have to deal with, but as you read you find that there could have been nobody else up for the task that Bobby was entrusted.

Bobby must travel through all of time and space, which aren’t relative to the other, to save different world or territories from the brink of destruction. He is what is known as a traveler and he has the most challenging job of all. He must somehow come to terms with who he is and understand the new world he has been pulled into.

Starting this series Bobby is only 14 years old. And although you may think you wouldn’t be able to get into the story because of the protagonist’s young age, think again. Bobby is at most of the time confused, but by no means is he whiny.

In this first book you learn along with Bobby that there are many territories that are all about to change, shift, somehow in a point of their history and it’s up to Bobby to make sure that the shift is toward the greater good. Bobby is flawed as we all are, but in the end he accepts his fate realizes that he has to be a part of the fight to save… everything. Every world, time, person, thing… everything that ever was or ever will be. One wrong move, one mistake could mean the total devastation of all. When was the last time you had to make a decision that would determine the course of history? Maybe you have and hadn’t known about it or maybe that choice hasn’t been presented to you yet. I believe that we are all products of the choices that came before us. We may not be us or exist at all if someone in the past had made a slightly different choice than what had been. I believe that is true of us and what is to come as well. The choices we make now, no matter what they are will affect the future of our world, even the choices we don’t make can have a great impact on how lives are shaped because in the end we are all apart of everything that has even been or ever will be.

This is especially true for Bobby as he fights and struggles alongside fellow travelers to figure out exactly how that world’s civilization might implode on itself and change its course of history for dark time ahead. There are questions, dangers, friends, and foes at every turn and Bobby has a crazy chase of a time trying to figure it all out before the end comes for Denduron, the first territory Bobby ever visits.

For those of you who haven’t read this series, please, please honestly think about picking it up or at least adding it to your reading list because you cannot understand just what you are missing out on.

For those who have read this, but like me, it has been along time, re-read this series. I thought I loved it before, but now I’m on a whole other level with the Pendragon series by D.J. MacHale. Also, for those who have read the complete Pendragon series and is looking for more, MacHale wrote and small trilogy centering on the first travelers.

MacHale’s Other Works In Halla

The Merchant of Death Graphic Novel

Pendragon Before the War: Book One of the Travelers

Pendragon Before the War: Book Two of the Travelers

Pendragon Before the War: Book Three of the Travelers

The Guide to the Territories of Halla

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

One thought on “Book Review: The Merchant of Death (Pendragon: BK1)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s