Christmas Tidings and End of the Year Musings

Happy Christmas Eve everybody. I hope everyone is having a great holiday! Now I know you are all busy greeting relatives you haven’t seen in a year, making last minute gift decisions, trying to finish your wrapping, and implement your many holiday traditions of Christmas Eve, but I have a few last minute things to say before the season of giving is over and the new year begins.

This will be my first Christmas in Colorado and spending the holiday with good friends instead of family. I am a little sad that I won’t be spending any of this season with my family, but there is something exciting spending such a weighty holiday in a state that is still unfamiliar with friends who are close enough to be considered family.

To make this new situation in my life even better, we are expected to get quite a bit of snow for the duration of Christmas and I am over excited. I have never in my life seen a white Christmas. To me, that means more than 2-3 inches of snow on the ground and it being cold enough to continue snowing and/or keep the snow that has already found its home on the ground sustained. I’m going to make everyone here build a snowman with me at some point tomorrow and all shall be wonderful. The only snowmen I have ever made were dreadful, ice-men that didn’t extend over a foot high.

With the end of the year approaching so fast, the times has gotten me and my housemates thinking about our accomplishments over the last year. I don’t know about them or about many of you, but to me there are many things I said that I was going to do over the course of this past year and wound up short of my word. So, in light of those realizations we have decided to implement end of the year resolutions in addition to our New Year resolutions.

In my day to day life I go to work all day for 8-9 hours and then when I get off of work I watch TV, read, lounge around and do nothing, just trying to wind down from my day. On my off days I either turn into a vegetable or try and finish too many things at once and end up getting nothing much done at all. All year I have been thinking about volunteering at my local library, but failed to do that. However, I declared that before December is up and the new year hits, I will have traveled down the road as far as I can to volunteering at the library. Yesterday I printed out the paper work, filled it in, and turned it into the front desk of the library. I don’t expect to hear from them until after the holidays is over. So I fulfilled my end of the year resolution and it feels good!

For the new year I have decided to read more meaning at least three books a month. (That is the lowest quantity goal for me that I have ever had, but with the way my life is right now I know that it is a manageable goal.) Also I have decided to read through the The Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge list and so every other book I read will be picked from there. My second New Year Resolution is to start a Reviews over the books I read this next year. I have not written a book review before so I will need to start reading up on how other people structure theirs to be able to write my own. I have two other resolutions, but for my third high priority resolution I am going to have at least half of my novel finished by the beginning of November 2015.

It will be a challenge to take on, especially if the library has me on the max volunteer hours you can hold in a week. I will be busy, but I will be doing everything I love and in life that’s all you can really do. Again, I wish you all a Happy Holiday and a Happy New Year.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

