NaNo-Prep-2 2014

prep9

Well here we are, day six of October’s NaNoWriMo Prep and everything is going so well! I’m getting my chapters outlined, ideas for foreshadowing are popping occasionally, and I think I figured out how to get my two main characters to interact in a more believable way. This is what NaNo Prep is for, to get all the small details out of the way, this is why we do this, so when November 1st hits we are ready to type 1667 words a day with no problem.

To be ready is what October Prep is for, but I was just trying to boost your spirits with the above paragraph. Honestly, I’m was supposed to have two fully completed outlined chapters by the end of today and I have not even a half chapter ready. Family has been in town and rightly so I’ve been spending as much time as I can with  them when I wasn’t working.

I know it’s alright not to have everything ready, and I know I shouldn’t stress too much about it, but I can’t help it. This will be my second year NaNo-ing and I want to be able to say that I completed everything I set out to do… for once. Day 6 and I have maybe enough material to get me through the first few days of November, as of now.

I have what I have already planned for and worked out since I started writing this story. It would just be nice if I could get a better handle on things, you know? It’s funny because even though I spend hours making a skeletal outline, I almost always, just slightly follow what I created, so I don’t know why I’m going ballistic trying to see every detail of the story as far as I can make the vision stretch. I always end up cutting out what I plan or adding in things randomly. That’s what you are supposed to do right? Right!

I’ve decided that yes, I’m going to keep outlining, and yes I would love to reach the goal of having all ten chapters outlined by the end of the month, but if that doesn’t happen then I think I will be okay with what I do manage to get outlined. I’m going to write my 1667 words a day even if it kills me or I get fired… hopefully I don’t get fired because I’m always staying up too late trying to finish the word count.

This is only day 6 of NaNo Prep and it’s not quite time yet to lose our heads ladies and gentlemen. Thank you all for the support you have shown me over the last few days. I hope you tune in on the 9th for how my next three days go. I would love to hear how your NaNo Prep is going as well.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

