NaNoWriMo… Write In?

NaNo talk already? It’s not even October yet. Come on, son!

Nano

But, alas, we are talking NaNoWriMo today, but more specifically we are speaking of the NaNoWriMo write in. I learned of the write in’s last year, my first year NaNo-ing, and I was never able to go to one, nor did I have time to start one. This year, however, I’m gearing up for NaNoWriMo like never before and I seriously want to get at least one of the locations in town to sponsor a write in.

Come Write In

The only thing is that I don’t know how to go about it, or what exactly to pitch to the potential sponsor. I live in Estes Park and although I know that this town and the smaller surrounding towns house many writers, I don’t know how many of them will be participating in NaNoWriMo this November.  Denver has one of the largest hubs around me for the NaNoWriMo write in’s… the last time I checked I believe that close to 10,000 people were signed in for NaNo and close to that number were convening together to participate in a write in.

I would love more than anything to be able to get off work, go into town, and join other writers in this crazy adventure we are all undertaking. Most of the time I write alone and I like it that way. Most of us do, right? But every once in a while it’s nice to sit with another writer or two and just enjoy the creative atmosphere seeping from the like-minded soul.

October should be about candy, ghouls, goblins, ghosts, and the 13 Nights of Halloween line up, but for me it will be about finishing up the chapter I’m currently in the middle of, plan the next 10 chapters of my novel for NaNo, and somehow get a Write In started and I have to do it soon! Location owners have to be notified, flyers have to be put up, an add in the newspaper has to be run throughout October… This is going to happen. I will start a write in if it is my only contribution to NaNoWriMo this year!…    No, I’m kidding. I have to write 50,000 words… ha-ha, silly me. But a Come Write In, in the town of Estes Park, will be established second to the word count! What do you think, should a shoot for a comfy coffee shop or the local library to house the Write In?

13 nights

For those of you out there who have sponsored, gotten someone to sponsor. or have participated in a NaNoWriMo, Come Write In, please give me any advice or hints on how to get this idea off the ground. Any help would be appreciated.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

