Game Gab: Thief

Gaming? That’s right Ladies and Gents, gaming. I know I haven’t ever spoken of my love for gamine before, but that’s why I’ve named this a debut. First time for everything right? Well, I won’t be my normal self today and give my whole background of my gaming life. Because for those of you who usually read my blogs you know that’s what I usually do. But I’m giving you all a break today.

I’m here to talk about the new game, Thief. I’m playing on the PS4 platform. I’ve had a few games that I’ve bought for my system such as, Assassin’s Creed, Killzone, and a few others and they have been fun to play! But once I started playing Thief I didn’t want to stop. The first day I stayed up until 6am playing this game. The next day I was almost late for work because I was so entranced.

I haven’t been this engrossed in a video game since I was little. In Thief you are, well, a thief, and you play be using your sleuthing skills and strategy and in an open world that’s very fun, at least for me. I love strategy and puzzle and anything along those lines and Thief uses just a little bit of it all. Don’t get my wrong there is plenty of fast action to be had in this game.

I’ve played over 35 hours already and I’ve barely made a dent into the game. There is so many layers and things to do! When diving into this game you can’t expect to just be pulled along and have an easy going of things, but also that depends somewhat on the difficulty level you choose at the start of your journey. With Thief you are given a map and the more you explore the more your map grows and the more you can unlock new maps.

Now, more than once now I’ve heard and seen complaints about how the map works. It took me a few minutes to get it down and be able to navigate it. More than once I became completely frustrated with it, but once I calmed down and just thought about what I had already been through I understood how to control the map and I haven’t had a problem with it since.

The thing about the map is that it’s there as a guideline and not a tool to baby you through the game. Let me put it to you this way. One city in the game will have several and I mean several layers and the map will only show the layer you are currently inhabiting. There are different sections of the one city and you have to explore the city to find how to get to the other portions of the same map. There are different ways to get to each section and on top of that you have the rooftops and the underground. That’s all for ONE city for ONE map. As you play through the game you have to learn to navigate your new map over and over again.

This game will bring out your competitive nature… I know it does mine and that’s what keeps me playing it for hours on end. If you’re not a competitive person you’ll love it just the same because it keeps your curiosity piqued. In the beginning I was warned away from this game because of many different, small little qualms of it, but mostly I’m out for the story and the action. The action is fun and keeps my adrenaline up, which I absolutely love, but the story is what keeps me playing, and Thief has one of the best stories so far for any of the new games I’ve gotten with the launch of the PS4. Don’t have a PS4? Don’t worry. Thief can also be played on PS3, Xbox 360, XBox One, and the PC.

I am having so much fun with this game it’s unreal. And yes, it takes some getting used to at first, but once you give yourself to the time to understand the characters, how the game works best for you, and keep your patience with the map you’ll be glad you purchased this game.

Wow, there are so many things to say about this and so many differnent little side notes I could ramble on about, but mostly I wanted to get the word out about how much I’m enjoying this game and tell you all that the map is not hard to understand at all. Just really pay attention to where you are, where you need to go, and how you managed to get here and you’ll be perfectly fine.

Now this is my first ever blog over video games. Even though I play them like crazy, writing about them is a whole different matter. If you are still unsure about this I encourage you to check out http://www.thiefgame.com/ to learn more about the game. Also, for all your gaming needs check out my friends, Brad’s blog http://wp.me/3LcfV . He blogs about all different types of games and the gaming world much better than I ever could.

So, recap. Check out Thief, buy the game, don’t rely solely on the map, and read Brad’s blog! Have fun!

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

