Page Poetry

Last spring I came across something I heard of as Page Poetry. I thought it was a highly wonderful thing to do and most people end up with beautiful results. I wanted to try it, but couldn’t bring myself to do what needed to be done in order to accomplish this. So I only admired others’ work. Well, I’ve recently come across more page poetry on Pinterest and decided it was time to give it a go.

I found an old book I’ve had lying around for ages. One of those that sort of appear and you never part with knowing full well you never intend to read it. I thought, “Why not this one?” My first try didn’t come out so well. But I continued and now I can’t stop. It’s so much fun to do.

What you do is go to any page (I started with the first one) and circle or box or triangle, any shape you want, a word. Continue to do this to form your own poem from somebody else’s page of literature. I find it highly expressive, and beautiful, especially if you are using an old Reader’s Digest. Every body has them lying around the house, but hardly few people read them. This is a way to bring new life into the poor forgotten book. I’ll share a few of my favorites that I’ve done over the past couple of days. Now, I’ve seen this done where the person has breathtaking art surrounding their poem. I’m no artist, but I do my best.

Smile at all times,
while wondering
what frown was
to ruin any affairs that,
were taken
or granted.

A mind,
broke under the shooting.
Overnight she had fallen.
An ambition-
turned away…
a love,
a daydream.

A lonely act.
She needed a chance,
a love.
But her chance
To obtain the value
She wanted…
She found,
problems of one romance.

He was an adventure.
They were a couple,
working for:
Orchids and
a sun of
Sapphire Waters and
neither was letdown.

Page poetry is great fun to try and do! If this is your thing or not I encourage everybody to try this!

 

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

6 thoughts on “Page Poetry”

  1. This is my first time hearing of something like this and I’m upset that I haven’t heard of it before! I already have the book in mind that I’m going to do this with as soon as I get home now!

Leave a Reply

