Fitness Fun… with Zombies!

No! I’m serious… I never ran on my own or worked out on my own very well. I’d always wanted to start, but it was just so… I psyched myself out because I kept thinking about the physical aspect of what I was doing.

Fall of 2012 I was looking for an app to help keep track of how much I was working out just to keep me motivated. I’m highly competitive and when I’m competing against myself I’m even more so.  I came across this app called Zombies, Run! I researched it, saw all the promotional videos, and I thought it was the best thing ever invented. After using it for the first time I was hooked, even if I was walking more through my workout than I was running.

Six to Start

Zombies, Run! is developed by Six to Start. They were founded in 2007 in London and are prioritized to helping you get off the couch. They combine fitness technology with semi-interactive gaming. It’s brilliant because while you are running you are thinking about the game playing in your ear rather than the work you’re putting your body through. It’s available for both Android and Apple devices.

Zombies Run

In this “game” you have the opportunity to sync it with your own music to get you motivated. You listen to this story unfold in your ear as you advance at your own pace.  You never need to look at your screen or bother with pressing any buttons while it plays. The game keeps you coming back for more through the adrenaline of running away from zombies combined with the chance to build up your own post apocalyptic base.

There are two seasons and Six to Start is currently working on the third. There are 23-65 missions in each season with the opportunity to do side missions and 5K training. You can use this app to map out your own route in your neighborhood or use it at any track, running bleachers, or for taking a stroll. BUT, be warned if you are strolling along and you happen upon some zombies get ready to run, because if not they will catch you and you will lose the precious commodities you managed to find for your base.

I was obsessed with this app when I first downloaded it and used it every morning. No lie. I am NOT a morning person at all. But with this app it was fun to go out in the early foggy morning around 6AM or so and run pretending to pick up supplies and hear zombies chasing after me. But after a while I did become busy (this was during my freshman year at college) and I stopped using it little by little. However, I’ve recently picked it up again and have restarted from the beginning.

The characters in the game you come to learn slowly, but they are interesting and in depth characters. They guy on your comm taking you through your missions is quite funny, his boss is a tough woman, but she runs a base during the zombie apocalypse so of course she is, give her some slack!

It’s a wonderful interactive app that helps you become motivated to get yourself moving. But not only is it an app you can go to  https://www.zombiesrungame.com/ and create your account so you can see an intensely in depth of how you did on your run and keep track of your progress and set up your Zombies, Run! account the way you want. You can also keep track of new developments and keep in touch with the Zombies, Run! community on Six to Start, Zombies Run! blog http://blog.zombiesrungame.com/.

Six to Start has developed many apps over the years and they have one other for those of you who may not be so inclined to run. Six to Start has an app called “The Walk” its a 500 mile thriller! Every step you walk whether at the gym or around the block you are walking for your very life! It’s a full story of tense situations. Check it out for yourself athttps://www.thewalkgame.com/.  I just heard about the app today from Six to Start. I’m in the process of downloading it. But once I do I’ll test it out and then I’ll be back with and update for that one. So for those of you who want a more slower pace, stay tuned.

I highly recommend you check out Six to Start and the app, Zombies, Run! to see if it is something you could get into. I never considered myself a runner… still don’t, but this app is a fun way to get me out there no matter what my pace.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

