Tapping of the Keys

November 9th already? Where is the time going? They say that the first week of NaNo is the easiest to keep up your writing, but I have to be honest. I’ve fallen behind by about 3500 words.

Now that I do the math it doesn’t feel like I’m that far behind. I just need a whole day, an inspiration boost, and three pots of coffee to catch up AND keep up with today’s word count. My plan was to try and catch up all at once today, but that doesn’t seem to be happening, so I’ll just write 200 more words everyday and be caught up in no time.

I’m doing so much better with my first year of NaNo than I thought I would, despite some of the changes that I am making in my life. But The other day I hit 10,000 words. That’s right 10,000. I’m so proud of myself. By my calendar and the word goal I have set for myself, shows that yesterday was the 1/4 mark.

I can’t believe we should have the first quarter of our story already. I don’t know about you guys, but my characters have yet to stumble upon the knowledge that will be the basis story line. They are still kind of fumbling around in their everyday lives. Although, right now, the main character, Theodore, is talking to the very person who will get the story moving along, but they haven’t gotten very far in their conversation.

I mean, plenty is happening in the story but the way the it’s progressing I have a feeling I will reach 50,000 by the end of the month, but the story won’t be finished. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

I know the NaNo Marathon event is happening today, but I still didn’t get started on my word count until sometime after one today. Seems to be a pattern with me. Everything will be changing soon enough though and I will get on the ball with this story. I’ve been following the Marathon events a little on Twitter, but honestly I haven’t been too interested. It’s too many things going on at once for me to even try to understand it all.

That’s pretty much all I have for you guys today. I just wanted to share my excitement at reaching 10,000. Have fun with the Marathon and happy writing. Let me know how your stories are coming along. I’d love to hear about your NaNo experience so far. Since I’m playing catch up I need to write about 1900 words today. I’ve only got about 400, so I’m going to get back to it. Write you guys soon.

The picture is something that the Scrivener software does for you. This is actually  my progress at the moment.

IMG_0630[1]

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

