This Friday!!!

nov 13Hello all my fellow bloggers and readers of blogs. I hope we are all doing well and keeping our sanity. I know I’m having trouble with that last part. It’s been awhile since I’ve posted up anything and trust me I’ve been feeling the absence.

October has been the busiest of my semester and I had a small break down a couple of weeks ago and had to call a friend of mine in New York to help calm me down. He handled it quite well. I don’t think he reads my blogs, but I would just like to give a shout out to him for his help.

With all the stress from school and personal endeavors I started questioning all of my choices ahead and ones I already made and it wasn’t a good thing. But I’m alright now and no matter what choices I make down the line I know I’ll continue to be alright.

I will not be sorry to see October go and it breaks my heart to say that because this is usually one of my most favorite months of the year. HALLOWEEN!! That’s right, I love Halloween. Ever since I was little the holiday has always drawn me in and I always become over excited. I most likely won’t be doing anything much for Halloween this year, but I have done more than last year. Hahaha…. I’ll make a note to blog about that later, but yes in three days October is over and that means this Friday…. THIS FRIDAY NaNoWriMo begins!!

Yes all of my blogs lately have been about NaNo and I promise to post something up that doesn’t concentrate on this particular literary challenge. Even though I’ve been preparing for NaNo since the end of September I am behind! I know I was telling you guys I was diligently working on my outline (and I was) but I am still not done with it. I have outlined the first 9 chapters or so but the other 20 some odd chapters are still without any detail.

I’ve never spent any significant amount of time outlining large writing projects as I have for this one and I’m not sure how well I will stick to my outline especially how I have no idea how the middle and end of my novel will tie with the beginning. I was hoping to have this outline done before November, but I’m now certain that will not be happening so what I’ve decided to do is use it more as a suggestion than a story line to follow no matter what. Besides how can I stay creative if I don’t give my outline room for variation… I’ll just fill it in as I go along.

For the past week I’ve been outlining those first 9 chapters like my life depended on it and I believe I ran out of steam which is why I haven’t found much inspiration for finishing the outline. However, my fingers have been itching to actually start writing the story. I’ve been exploring different possibilities of how I’m going to start without actually trying to write what I’m going to write… (I’m not sure how all that falls in with the rules of NaNo) so I’m just playing it safe.

As far as all the people I personally know who would be interested in doing this challenge I’ve only been able to get one person on board with taking this journey with me. I haven’t asked her too many questions about how’s she is preparing and getting her story together, but I have been pestering her every so many weeks about how ready she is to actually being and I think she’s ready… nervous, but ready.

At this point, I think I’m more ready than nervous which suits just fine with me. I make myself physically sick if I become to nervous over anything and then the thing in which I was originally nervous over becomes less appealing to me. I don’t want to happen with NaNo. I don’t think it will, but all the same. I’m trying to stay positive; a new feat for me. I tend to stay on the more pessimistic side of things and I’m alright with that, it’s just part of who I am.

Positive thoughts:

1. I have enough outlined to start NaNo and keep going for a few weeks.

2. I am more ready than nervous

3. My school work or at least what’s due is light during the month of November.

4. I have at least one person I can pester or whine to about NaNo.

5. I have unlimited places to collect my thoughts and write.

6. I have my own coffee pot in my dorm room that will keep me supplied with caffeine

I’ll just list those for now. I am still working out minor character issues for my novel and, of course, the outline is unfinished, but other than that I spending more time on watching YouTube videos about how to work more features on my Scrivener program and other’s adventures with NaNo and finding forums and blogs and anything I can about this spectacular month of writing. Oh, that reminds me! I came across a Facebook page today titled Month of the Novel.

You can check out the videos on YouTube and I found them to be quite pleasing. They are just short clip comedy videos over a girl writing her NaNo. There is acting involved and it’s not just some random person talking for five minutes. I found it well worth the time, so if you get a moment I highly encourage you to go check it out for yourself.

Alright, well I’ll leave it here for now as I still, unfortunately, have homework to finish and as promised I’ll post up soon about my Halloween adventures or anything else besides NaNo, but be warned… this is the time for NaNo and many more post on the subject will take place.

Along with my Halloween post I do plan on doing a book review not to long from now or something related to material I have read recently. I hope to be able to post up soon. Have a happy and safe Halloween!

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

