To Write…. With Software

Hello All,

Since my last post I mentioned how I’m getting everything in position outline wise for the upcoming NaNoWriMo challenge and I’ve been busting my butt on that front.

So, it’s precisely three weeks until the start of November and if you have been following along November starts off an incredibly busy month for me. Actually, November starts off a busy month for thousands of people.

Three weeks! Can you believe November is already upon us? Three weeks until November 1st, the start of National Novel Writing Month. Well, at this point I’ve been trying to keep up with my classes and I think I’ve been doing pretty well in that department.

Ideas are popping left and right and it’s taking everything to write the ideas down as the come to me. Whoo! It’s just been a whirlwind. I found this perfect writing software I’m using to help me outline my novel.

I know many of you have your own preferences already, whether you use Microsoft Word or you have your own special software you use, but I have come across Scrivener.

Now, if you’re like me, then you are highly paranoid about organization. I love to organize things, not that you would ever be able to tell by the state of my desk, but yes organization keeps me somewhat sane.

When using Microsoft Word for my writing, which I have always done, if of course, I’m not writing out by hand. Which if I really think about it I tend to write by hand more often when first starting out. I tend to write all my notes and research into Word, but then write the actual story by hand, and then go back and type everything up.

It’s a good system and it works for me. However, this time, I needed a slightly different system. If I’m to write a whole novel in the span of a mere 30 days I decided I had to crack down on my organization.

I came across Scrivener on the NaNoWriMo forum and thought the sound of it was just what I needed. I learned that it’s not a free software, only about $40, but it has been a lifesaver for what’s left of my sanity.

Scrivener lets me organize notes and my outline and research all in one place without having to save it to several different folders like I would in Word. I read all the reviews and watched videos on YouTube and fell absolutely in love. Once I bought the software and started using it for myself I wondered how I had every gone so long without using it. Here is the link to the video I watched on YouTube about Scrivener, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ryXJ18eUp8 . There are others as well of course.

It’s features and the way you can generate your own unique style of organizing and making the software your own are endless. WAIT, it’s not just outlining! But it has everything you could ever need to actually write your story as your notes, research, and outline are still right there and you don’t have to go hunting for them in a different document in a different folder.

What you can do with this software is absolutely revolutionary. I’m having a blast using this and I have the feeling Scrivener and I will be best friends for a long time to come. I won’t give up writing by hand anytime soon, but I don’t think I’ll be able to give up Scrivener now if I tried!

This software is going to be my best friend during November. If you have already started planning your novel, have not yet started, or need a better way of organizing Scrivener is the ultimate choice.

I’m just about ready for the November 1st. Are You? NaNoWriMo already has 72,395 signed up and pledging to take on this challenge and I hope more join me and the numerous others taking on this task.

I must get back to my outline now. I hope to hear from you guys and if you have a favorite software to use list is below! Happy Writing.

 

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

5 thoughts on “To Write…. With Software”

  1. I’ve never heard of Scrivener, but I’m definitely going to check it out! I usually use Word, Pinterest (when I need images to inspire me), and digital sticky note widgets in addition to my good old fashion journal.

    Happy outlining! I can’t believe November is so close!

Leave a Reply

