30 Days. 50K Words. 1 Challenge!

nanowrimoI think I must be crazy! I have to be to do such an undertaking as this. All the same I’m excited. What am I talking about? National Novel Writing Month is what I’m speaking of.

November 1st kicks off National Novel Writing Month. Don’t worry I didn’t know such a thing existed until just a few weeks ago. Everywhere thousands upon thousands of people will be sitting down to write periodically throughout their day during November.

The challenge is 50,000 words in the span of just 30 days! Can you believe it? I couldn’t at first. I doubted it was even possible, but the company putting on this little challenge is NaNoWriMo and the have pages and pages of proof that such a feat can be completed.

If you still don’t quite understand what I’m talking about picture my situation. I am a sophomore in college. I have classes, papers, deadlines, foreign language to practice, tests and exams, club meetings, friends to keep in touch with, shows needing watching, and sleep to sometimes grab. My days are full and flurry with activity and yet I’ve decided to take on this writing challenge. Every spare moment and even stealing some extra time from other things I will be sitting down and typing out 1700 words a day starting November.

This challenge isn’t exclusive to writers. You can be a firefighter, a bank teller, lawyer, or anything and decide to take up this challenge. Have you ever had an idea that you thought would make a great story? Have you put off telling people about it cause you thought they would laugh at you or haven’t started writing it because you just aren’t a writer? Well, here is your chance because none of that matters!

This is your chance to get the story out: no stopping, so second guessing, no time to wonder if the writing is even good because it’s all about FINISHING the story. It’s about having it sitting fully in front of you, to accomplish something and worry about the problems later.

I’ve decided to take up the challenge and have put my name in with the others who will sacrificing their sanity during November. This month I’m spending as much time as I can outlining. I’m getting all the major characters and plot points, settings all down onto paper and even trying to put them all into somewhat manageable order. The outline will be there more as a guideline than a strict code to follow.

I encourage everybody with a voice, those who have always wanted to try their hand at writing to join me in this challenge! This is going to be a long road and I will keep you updated with my progress! However, if I seem to have fallen off the gird now you know why.

If you are interested in this challenge you can visit nanowrimo.org for the official rules and sign up. There are success stories from past participants and other forums to encourage you on this journey.

If you do decide to join me on this writing adventure leave a comment below, I’d love to hear what you have to say about it! Well, happy planning and I will update again right before November first.

May your pens never run out of ink and your computers stay charged!

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

3 thoughts on “30 Days. 50K Words. 1 Challenge!”

  1. I’m in for this year as well! This will be my fourth year, and my first time officially doing it with a group of my students. (I’ve had one who’s participated with me every year since I started, but this time I have twelve others!) It’s a crazy adventure, but it’s so much fun (and great for your writing habits.) Rest up and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

