From the Experts…

I don’t go a day without logging into Pinterest. For those of you who have not seen my previous post where I mentioned this site or have not heard of it by any other means, Pinterest is a virtual pin board.

Anything and everything that you find out while searching the web and you want to save what you come across, but you don’t want to take up more space in your favorites bar you can pin it to Pinterest and it will live there for you to visit and for other Pinners to find.

This site is a great outlet from the activities of your day. Mainly, I will log on and look through pins like one will log into Facebook over and over trying to alleviate their boredom. I highly recommend you go and explore the site for yourself, but if you do and you have potential as a future pinner you will never be able to leave the site alone!pinterestWell, the other day I was browsing Pinterest once again and I came upon this pin with a lit of podcast dedicated to the writing world. I checked out the ones that seemed to hold the most interest for me and I found one of the sites quite enjoyable.

Writing Excuses is a podcast where the three hosts discuss a different topic on the subject of writing every week. I’ve listened to 16 podcasts so far and find them entertaining, credible, and find that they have some useful points on their topics.

They talk about brainstorming, character building, to how to deal with sending in your manuscript to editors. Brandon Sanderson (Fantasy Novelist), Howard Tayler (Cartoonist), and Dan Wells (Horror Novelist)… with occasional appearances by Mary Robinette Kowal (Novelist). They are all published authors and respected professionals in their fields.

Their podcast has been running for many years. The first podcast shows to have aired in 2008 with currently 7 seasons with the 8th in the making. I can’t just start with their latest podcast so, of course, I have started from the beginning hoping to catch up before they run out of topics to discuss.

The website is easy to find and the podcasts are free to listen to. I have recently bought the first 5 season on disk, because I’d like to be able to keep them forever and download them onto my iPod. Also, the disks offer a little extra bonus material that cannot be heard online.

For those of you who dabble in writing or edditing, who are writers and have been trying to strengthen your skill or for those of you who, like myself, are aspiring writers, I highly recommend you hear these podcasts for yourself. They are only 15 minutes long, but each one has an abundance of material and advice for everything writing associated.

Here’s a lovely thought: For those who can’t sit down and listen to them one by one, go search through the website’s archives, find a topic that pertains to you in that moment and learn something new! Each episode is carefully titled and the hosts haven’t strayed off topic from what I can tell.

I’ve really enjoyed listening to these podcasts and they have even replaced my morning music. I find their advice insightful and spot on! So, for those of you who are serious about your writing, take fifteen minutes out of your day and listen to Writing Excuses. 

wep

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

3 thoughts on “From the Experts…”

  1. I do Pinterest almost everyday, it’s one of my favorite things and I actually use stuff I pin on it (I don’t think everyone does) so it has several levels of fun for me.

Leave a Reply

