Chapter Titles?

For those of you who are readers of chapter books or what-have-you, do you prefer the chapter to simply be titled, Chapter 1… Chapter 2 and so on, or do you like to see the chapter accompanied by a Title: Chapter 1: Finding Rayne?

Within my reading, most of the time I can’t quite decide which way I like to see it done. I think it depends mostly on what type of reading I’m doing. Take the Jane Austen novels for example. Those that I have read have the simple titles of chapter 1 and so on. I don’t tend to mind it has much because I know her chapters tend to be high of information and goings on.

However, with my other reading, say, the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling, I’ve noticed that those have Chapter titles such as, “The Unbreakable Vow”. When reading those books or books somewhat similar I get this giddy feeling when the chapter title gives small hints as to what I’m about to encounter during my reading.

Don’t get me wrong, both types are great and there is nothing wrong with either, but with my own writing I can’t quite decide which way I would have it done. Once I am finished writing a chapter I ill go back and splat on a title that holds some meaning with what one is about to read.

At times, as I get more and more chapters written down, I find that sometimes the chapter titles are dictating before hand what I might be putting in this next chapter and I see that most of the time my writing suffers for it. When I notice this I push all chapter titles to void and try an concentrate on the story.

Also, this is how I write my ‘outline’. I will draw up chapter titles in relation to the progression I want the story to take and then do sub points of what each chapter will contain and even more sub points under those… and well, my techniques are a bit crazy. I don’t do that with every project I undertake mind you.

I have yet to find a method that actually works and don’t misread me please. I’m not trying to ask what I should do, I’m simply wondering at what you prefer as readers.

Chapter 1 or

Chapter 1: Finding Rayne?

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

4 thoughts on “Chapter Titles?”

  1. Personally, I don’t like chapter headings. As a reader, when I find chapter headings, I also find I frequently have to go back to remind myself what the heading is and to judge if I am “there” or not, which is annoying (I don’t know why I do that, but I feel I have to remember that piece of information. It becomes a chore).

    As an author, I especially don’t do it, partly for the reason above, and partly because my chapters number around 30 per book and I feel any heading gets in the way and upsets the flow.

    That is, of course, my view. There may be many who love a heading to give them a hint of what’s coming.

    Cheers to you. 🙂

  2. I think if a chapter had a little something that draws interest without really giving anything away, it would make me want to keep reading, anxious to find out what happens.  It might not be best for all books.  Grammy

    >________________________________ >From: fountainpenhandwriting >To: texasanneh@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, September 9, 2013 4:50 PM >Subject: [New post] Chapter Titles? > >fountainpenhandwriting posted: “For those of you who are readers of chapter books or what-have-you, do you prefer the chapter to simply be titled, Chapter 1… Chapter 2 and so on, or do you like to see the chapter accompanied by a Title: Chapter 1: Finding Rayne? Within my reading, ” >

Leave a Reply

