The Complete Adventure

Estes, Colorado is such a beautiful place! You could walk the same trail everyday and never experience the same thing twice. (Not that we walked the same trial everyday.) There are far too many trails and different places to experience for a visit as short as ours.

If you haven’t been to any part of the mountains in Colorado than you can only get a glimpse of what I am trying to convey to you all. Granted, we were there visiting friends who know all the great spots.

This isn’t really a blog post to take you through every detail of the trip, there just isn’t enough time and I’m not trying to write a book on the adventure, hmmm… no. So this is just going to be a small recap with some pictures. Now, keep in mind that I took over maybe 200 pictures. Don’t worry I will not be posting them all.

We hiked and saw some of the most beautiful sites God has created in this world. Along with the magnificence, we saw some of the cutest animals. Marmots, Pica, Bull Moose, Rams, chipmunks, elk… and plenty more.

We were only there for 11 days. If I hadn’t been pressed for cash, ( I quite my job to go remember?) running out of time before I had to get ready to go back to school, and had brought more clothes I would have stayed longer. The family we were visiting runs Valhalla Resort there in the mountains. If you ever feel like taking a trip that is the place to book your stay. We were visiting with them around their working days so it wasn’t a big reunion everyday. One of their sons who was sick during our visit didn’t take our hikes with us, which is sad, but we hung out with him as much as we could.

That trip was the highlight of my summer and I’m so glad I was given the opportunity to go. I already miss it there, not to mention that it’s most likely 20 something degrees colder there than it is here in Texas. Actually, it’s only 84 degrees here right now and let me tell you it feels great outside. If the weather is still holding by the time I finish here I shall take my book out to read.

Farmer's Market

Melted straight from an ice cap.... = freezing!
Melted straight from an ice cap…. = freezing!

DSCN1555 DSCN1552

We were doing nothing wrong...
We were doing nothing wrong…

Marmot! Above The Tree Line DSCN1638 DSCN1668 Pica!! DSCN1655

So that is just a taste of what we experienced there. I highly encourage all to go for an extended visit! If you do remember to bring a jacket with you no matter what, drink tons of water.

On Another note, I have gotten my writing started while I was there. That’s coming on rather slowly, but today I am going to start putting old pieces in my computer to get rid of the piles of paper I have. Woo… it’s a pretty big stack! So I hope you all enjoyed this little piece of what I could share from my time in Colorado. I am watching for every opportunity to travel again!

Feel free to ask any questions you have from my trip, I’ll be glad to answer them.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

