D.W.P. 17 New Obsession

July 29

Prompt: Write about something you’ve recently started doing.

As a writer we each have our own quirks and ways of doing things. Where, when, why, and how we write is only a small part that makes us individuals within the writing world. There is something I’m sure we have all noticed before that we all have in common and all must look into no matter our own style of writing.

What could this possibly be. Well, the individual words themselves. To be a writer we must have an extensive knowledge of words in order to create a life, place, and a whole new world. We are lovers of words, but how far can you take your writing on just your vocabulary to date?

Growing up I read and read and that’s how I extended my vocabulary beyond the basics. Well, once I took up writing, my reading time had to be toned down slightly to make way for writing time.  As I wrote many words just sprang to mind and more often than not I would have to go consult a dictionary to make sure I was placing the right word where it needed to be. Sometimes, I surprised myself when a word just flowed through my fingers when I had been unaware it was even stored within my brain.

Plenty, oh boy do I mean it, a word would spring forth in my writing that sounded as if it was created to be put in that sentence directly in that spot. However, when I went back to make sure that was to be its home I found that the word made no sense whatsoever. I learned quickly that the words connect together beautifully if they make the right sequence of sound, but just because they piece together like the perfect sound puzzle doesn’t mean they logically puzzle together.

Lately, I’ve been on a hunt for new words and have come up with a surprising number of beautiful words that are rarely to never used and have written them all down. I just have a list of words right now, but I’ll work on getting their definitions later.

So far, I have a list of over 300 words that I’ve never seen before or heard anybody use and most of them are such amazing put together things to describe or announce parts of life that you wouldn’t even think could be captured in one word or that you never would have dreamed even had a name for.

Also, as writers we are always badgered with questions about our works in progress and many time even works that have not been thought into existence yet. Each writer handles these question in their own way.

Most of the time though I just want to tell people, “It’s none of your business. Leave me alone.” Even though you can manage to say the first bit the nicest way possible you always come off sounding rather rude. I have found the perfect word to tell people when they paparazzi you with questions and I find it so perfect that I wonder why it is not circulated more often.

Sgriobhadaireachd. I know it’s a long and wonky word, but the meaning is spot on. When you get asked the questions that every writer hates, tell the person to go look up this word and they will be sure to leave you alone for it’s a writer’s business. 

If you are like me then this next word is for you. Logastellus means a person’s whose love of words is greater than their knowledge of words. Logastesllus describes me through and through. I love words. The way they are formed and changed, pronounced, their simplicity, and their complexity. I also love how they can describe something so perfect or be the most beautiful meaning for something every day.

If you are interested I’ll post up a small list of words that I have found, but just let me know.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “D.W.P. 17 New Obsession”

  1. Collecting words is a wonderful hobby. Not only does it increase your own vocabulary, but there’s nothing as satisfying as finally getting to use a word you’ve held onto for a while. One of my favorites that I discovered not to long ago: harangue (essentially, to lecture someone angrily or forcefully). I would love to see your collection if you decide to share some of it. : )

Leave a Reply

