You Have Bewitched Me, Body and Soul.

Hello, all. I must start off by acknowledging how I did not blog anything yesterday. I have set a goal for myself to write something small everyday and that is the reason for my Daily Writing Prompts. I missed my deadlines and for those of you who actually enjoy to read them I am sorry for letting you down.

However, before you become to harsh on the matter, I will say this in my defense, I am regularly plagued by migraines. For those of you who do not suffer from migraines I pray you never become acquainted with them as I have. The whole of yesterday, from the moment I woke, until I was forced to block out all light and sound early afternoon I was lying down and dare I not move. So, occasionally, I will be unable to write due to my migraines which happen more often than not. However, this is not the reason I’m blogging at the moment.

If I have not before expressed my love for Jane Austen I profusely apologize. I saw the 2005 adaptation of Pride & Prejudice, starring Keira Knightly and Matthew Macfayden, when I was still in middle school. I believe I was an early sixth grader when I watched the movie. Seeing that movie introduced me to the world of Jane Austen. I soon searched my school library, the very next day actually, to see if we had a copy and sure enough we did. I checked it out, read it within the week, and fell absolutely in love with the story of Pride & Prejudice. I have read it several times since then, keep the movie on constant replay when I am studying, or need background noise for what have you, and have several different copies of the book. (Have I mentioned my book hoarding tendencies?)

I have only read a couple of Jane Austen’s work, but believe you me I am working on reading through them all. Persuasion is my second favorite next to Pride & Prejudice. As I was reading through Persuasion, I berated my Facebook page with quotes that called out to me during my reading. I’m sure I annoyed all of my friends with the constant quotes, but I cared not, for I was sharing the words of Jane Austen.

P&P book coverThe picture above is a beautiful copy of Pride and Prejudice, sadly, not one that I own.

I tend to have a bit of an online shopping habit. I am a frequent supporter of Amazon. The other day I was browsing through their journal selection (again part of my hoarding habits.) and somehow when I search through the journals I always end up on Pride & Prejudice paraphernalia. I came across something that I just absolutely couldn’t resist buying.

P&P Poster

What you see there is a Pride and Prejudice poster. Not only does it have the silhouette of Mr. Darcy and Miss. Elizabeth Bennett themselves, but the columns you see surrounding their silhouettes are the words of Pride & Prejudice . The columns are the book in its entirety! I don’t know how I’ve lived this long without this poster!

P&P Ptsr WordsA close up of one of the columns. It catches my breath every time I look at it and I can’t wait to see the poster hung in my dorm room this fall term! I am itching to read Pride & Prejudice again, but I need to finish my current reading project first.

For those of you who are unaware of Pride & Prejudice or for those of you who have just turned your nose up at the thought of reading Jane Austen’s work due to the fact that she wrote these in the 1800’s, you are missing out on an incredible story and an amazing example of literature that will last through the ages.

P&P QuoteAlso, the newest ‘rumors’ flying around twitter is that Jane Austen is to replace the current face on the euro 10 bill! Good work Jane Austen. Writers of today can only hope to achieve everything you have. I know you are one of my greatest writing idols!

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

5 thoughts on “You Have Bewitched Me, Body and Soul.”

  1. I take it you like Pride and Prejudice. That much is obvious. Being such a fan of Jane Austen’s work, and especially since you read Pride and Prejudice before I even read Sherlock Holmes (I led a sheltered life), I am almost afraid to mention this to you. Purist Pride and Prejudice fans sometimes don’t like to disturb a good thing. But, call me brave, call me gutsy, call me stupid, just don’t call me late for dinner.
    I love Pride and Prejudice too, so much so that I am writing a sequel to it, titled Duty and Honor. I am posting it one thousand words at a time on my blog. No zombies, or supernatural events (although later on I do include a toadstone ring), and all the characters from the original book are in Duty and Honor one way or another. Don’t worry about the asking for donations on the earlier posts, I thought my words might actually be worth something. They are, but not beyond sentimental value I’m afraid.
    If you wish to stop by, the address is http://witchesatwar.wordpress.com.

    1. I do indeed love Jane Austen’s work. I also believe that her work should not be changed. However, I am open to reading everything I love about a work, that also includes continuations from other Authors. How could I not want the world of Jane Austen to continue? I have read,

      Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues by Linda Berdoll and her following sequel. The books are really well written and I’m trying to find the time to continue reading them. 😀 Thank you for directing me to your page, I will certainly take a look and there are many, upon many Continuations of Pride and Prejudice, and not just along the Darcy and Elizabeth timeline, but ones of Gorgiana Darcy and many others.

Leave a Reply

