D.W.P. 10 Mr.Block

July 21

Prompt: Write a letter to writer’s block where you permanently part ways with the condition.

Dear Writer’s Block,

It has been many years since I have found what drives me most in this world. It’s been nine years since that first year I picked up a pen and tried my hand at writing.

Nine going on ten years you have been my constant companion. You have seen it all and no matter the situation you have been there as a familiar anchor. We have known each other for a long time, even though our relationship has never been the healthiest. That has never kept us apart, no matter how many times I have expressed any wish to part ways. You have always brought me back and gotten to change my mind about leaving.

Please, understand that I do not solely place the blame on you. Half the blame is mine. I secretly wanted us to stay. You are the most loyal companion and you stood as my excuse when I desperately needed one. It is wrong to use you in such a way, but do not worry, for I promise to never use you in such a manner again.

That is what I am trying to say, why I am writing to you. I am no longer mentioning this as a passing thought, half serious about enforcing the actions.

I am certain, without a doubt am I certain, that it is time for us to part ways. I feel, stronger now than ever before, that we want two different things out of life. I don’t want either of us to hold the other back from what it is we truly wish to accomplish in this world.

I’m not saying this is going to be easy, something like this is never easy, especially when two beings have known each other for as long as we have.

I’m sorry to drop this on you so suddenly and in such a way as this. I just couldn’t bring myself to tell you personally, because I didn’t want to give you the chance to talk me out of it.

I have made my decision and I’m standing by said decision. At this point there is nothing you can say or do to stop this from happening. I feel you are owed a better explanation so you do not berate me with unnecessary questions later. I don’t mean to be harsh, but you are wrong for me. You hold me back and I honestly feel that you don’t support me in what I am trying to accomplish. You are selfish and distracting and I just can not afford to keep you in my life any longer.

So after this I will no longer seek you and you shall do the same. If ever an occasion arises that we have the chance to come across each other I will turn my head and not know you. You are not to even say hi or wave to me or tempt me into entertaining your devastating ways.

Goodbye. Forever.

Sincerely,

An Inspired Writer

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

