D.W.P. 7 Inescapable

July 18

Prompt: Write the first page of a story that begins with a crash.

Disclaimer: This prompt is not a part of a larger working project.

It wasn’t raining, cloudy, there was no road construction,, but without any outside forces to blame, it happened anyway. A perfectly clear day, too warm in my opinion, but clear all the same.  I was in the back seat behind the front passenger seat. I don’t remember quite what I was thinking in that moment or what was entertaining my attention.

I had been too small to see the road from my position and I was too young to remember the great details, but I do remember hitting my head against the seat in front of me. I can recall the horrible sound of tires trying to find traction before slamming into the rear of our car.

Our car, which had been poised at a red light, shot forward into the intersection. The feeling was equivalent to waking up on a roller coaster moments before the first drop without realizing you had even boarded the ride.

In a split second we were hit again. A truck completely in his right to flow through his green light, t-boned the right side of our car, my side of the car. We all sat, the three cars, us in the middle of the intersection , the truck on the far side, and the first car just resting through the first light.

My dad, who was driving, was highly disoriented, and I sat unable to move my right arm and I was fighting against a strong pull to go to sleep. I later woke int he hospital, my right arm in a cast and my dad sitting at my bedside.

Everybody involved in the crash was okay and the initial driver had gotten his license taken away. It was deemed that he had been too old to be driving. Actually, I suffered a concussion and later we learned that I started suffering blackouts, which had never been a problem before.

There are some people who I believe to be cursed. Now I know that word brings many horrors to mind, but I only mean it in the simplest form.

There are people, no matter who they are, what choices they make, what they believe or what they don’t believe, a single event good or bad will always follow them. The same event occurring over and over in several different forms never letting the victim escape, doomed to find oneself in a similar situation a week, month, or six years later with no way of slowing it down and no way of stopping it.

Since that first crash, I have been involved in three others. But now as a twenty-five year old man, I know my time is coming again. I am one of the cursed and this time I feel that this will be the biggest of them all. I am terrified, but I don’t let that stop me from living my life. How could I when the best part about life is coming together for me, when I have just gained the one thing to make it worth while?

“Never allow the circumstances of your current situation dictate the integrity of your character.”

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “D.W.P. 7 Inescapable”

  1. Great story! I love those little twists at the beginning of stories that change how I’m initially imagining the scene, like realizing that the narrator was actually very young during the accident. : )

Leave a Reply

