A New Adventure

So for the many of you (and I’m quite convinced it’s a large group) who don’t know anything about me I’ll just fill you in.

I am 19 years old (turning 20 in just a few short weeks) and I just completed my first year at Stephen F. Austin State University here in my home state of Texas. I study…. creative writing! I love writing and I love learning about writing and how to become a better writer, well, all the tricks of the trade, I love to learn about it all.

I kept myself quite busy with school work my first year and I have to admit I struggled to adjust. I feel that my high school didn’t quite prepare me the way it should have for what I was about to get myself into, but I won’t

Surfin Steve
Surfin Steve

go off on a rant about that right this moment. However, despite my rocky start I feel that I now have a firm grip.┬áBecause I had kept myself so busy during school I didn’t have time to get a steady job, not even part-time.

Also, I barely had the chance to be home at all during my first year of college. I only came home on major holidays and some of those holidays such as spring break, and I can’t quite remember, but I think our holidays were just rather short, but spring break I went off to San Antonio with a few friends and was only home for about a day. So in considering all of that I came up with a plan for this summer.

I would come home, and spend the time with my family and get a job. Spending time with my family has been great and I was even able to get a  part-time job. So this summer was going to consist of chilling at home, working, getting some reading done because I did not have time to read but two books the whole time I was at school.

I’ve been doing a lot of lounging around the house, I’ve made only a small dent in the summer reading list that I made myself and I work three to maybe four days a week. I go out with some friends every now and then, but it’s hard to work around everybody’s work schedule so I don’t see them as often as I’d like to.

So that was going to be my summer and I didn’t mind my plan at all. I like making plans, even well ahead of any event, I plan for it. I like making lists. For anything I’m doing, going, wanting…. I make a list. That’s just who I am. Most of the time life forces me to always change my lists or throw them out altogether, but I tend to make them anyway.

Recently, just a few days ago my mom had me buy a plane ticket to Colorado. She had already planned on going to visit friends up there and she somehow talked me into going as well. Actually, it really wasn’t that hard to do. I had one day to decide because the deal on the plane tickets were soon to expire.

My problem was that I had already told my boss that I would be working through the month of August. It was set, we had a plan and I knew what was happening, but then this trip was thrown at me. I already had an obligation and I was so close to turning the trip down, but I thought about it for quite a while and knew that if I didn’t take this trip I would regret it more than going back on my word to my boss. I hate taking my word back. It makes me feel so bad. I just couldn’t pass up this opportunity to travel.

That’s what I want to do when I get out of college. I want to write, read, and travel. Travel everywhere and see and experience everything that I possibly can. I’ve only been to Colorado once and that was a little over four years ago or just about four years ago.

Since then I have been to Las Vegas, the Grand Canyon, Lake Tahoe, Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks and many places in between. I’m not done yet. Those trips just helped fuel my wanderlust. I’ve been itching for the next trip and then I got the opportunity to go to Colorado. I don’t pass up a chance to travel. I can’t, who I am just won’t allow me to.

I’m so excited and thrilled. In two weeks we will be on our way to the beautiful town of Estes Park, CO. The only thing I’m worried about it how we are getting there. We are going to fly. I’ve never been on a plane before in my life and I’m nervous about it. I’m more of a road trip person. You get to see and experience more of the journey that way.

So Colorado will be my new adventure for summer of 2013. We will climb mountains, hike, site see, and I know I’ll definitely visit the small, but breathtaking little town. Just a few more weeks….

*Note- Keep checking back in for more updates on the upcoming Colorado adventure.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

Leave a Reply

