Daily Writing Prompt 1

Originally posted July 12, 2013

Hello everyone! So if you have been keeping up with my posts than you know that I am starting my long term project and for those of you who haven’t all you need to know to get caught up is that I’m starting my long term project. The title should give you a clue. A daily writing prompt! This blog was to help me get back on track with my writing and that’s exactly what the daily writing prompts are here for. Now, to get my started I have found a source that has several different prompts out there for suggestions.

For those of you who are not acquainted with the pin board Pinterest.com it is an absolutely beautiful site. It has everything you could ever want to see, make, do… it has everything. If you are browsing the internet and come across something you want to save, don’t save it to your favorites pin it to pinterest. Most sites now have the “pin it” option just like the “like it” for facebook. Ok, well, I highly recommend you go check out the site for yourself.

Pinterest is where I have found these particular daily writing prompts. There are an abundance of clever prompts and I have even found a few other sites that will deliver (by email) daily prompts. I’m so excited to get started and I hope those of you who are reading this follow along with me in my prompt adventure. 😀

*Note- None of these prompts are a part of a larger working project.*

July, 12 Daily Prompt: Write about your villain’s body image.

You could hear their screams, even over the loud clanking of the metal that would decide their fates. His heart raced. Faster and faster it went, thumping even harder. He wasn’t scared, definitely not, just the opposite actually. He peered over the edge as those screaming were finally silenced and the metal found its rest. He smiled a well self-satisfied smile. He huffed as he stood and walked over to a pay phone attached to the opposite wall.

He made the anonymous call, but with the building’s inhabitants creeping out to locate the commotion he felt assured that many more frantic 911 calls were to be made. He made his way out of the building, making sure to stay out of the security cameras.

He soon made it home and went to a full length mirror attached to the inside of his bathroom door. Just like he doesn’t understand where he gets the urge to do the things he does, he’s not sure why he always stands and watches the mirror afterwards.

Perhaps he just likes to see his own look of glee, his eyes big and shining bright, the white tooth smile that won’t, cannot leave his face. He enjoys this. The elevator took a little bit more work to bring crashing down than he was prepared for. The black beanie he used to cover up his choppy brown hair and the clothes he decided on were a bit on the heavy side. It didn’t help that his hands had never been steady and that he supported his equal share of weight around his middle.

He was still slightly sweaty from the encounter. Several times he mused about getting into shape, but on more than one occasion knew that his body was not the only thing keeping him from getting caught. The police don’t normally look for a fat man trying to blend into the crowd. They overlook the fact that he had watched the elevator fall to its doom only because he struggled to make it to a standing position.  Society would find him ugly and somewhat of a minority, but as he gazed into the mirror at himself he smiled even bigger. He loved his body and even as he thought this… his next urge was forming in his mind. He had to get started with the plans right away.

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “Daily Writing Prompt 1”

Leave a Reply

