A Small Unusual New Friend

Note: I recently switched blog site. Originally posted, July 10, 2013

    I know there are many, many people out there who are scared of bees. You either don’t like bugs, are allergic, they freak you out with their oddly shaped little bee bodies, well, whatever the case is the fact is that you don’t like them. Almost, say more than half the people on my mom’s side of the family are highly, extremely allergic to any type of bee when stung. My sisters experience horrible swelling and are so dramatic to the point where the swear beyond measure that the offended limb will fall off. My aunt needs immediate medication when stung.

    Growing up it was always very amusing to me to watch my sisters freak out anytime they saw a bee, or wasp, or what-have-you. The creature causing this distress could have been several yards away, but does that matter? NO! To them if the bee was in sight it was too close and they’d go off screaming and running away. Now and again, on occasion they got stung a few times. From what I remember of the few instances that I had the privilege to witness such an occasion, the bee (wasp) almost seemed to have been on a vendetta and had attacked for no reason at all. Are bees/wasps territorial? I haven’t the faintest clue. I believe a run in with a giant nest or two happened while they were in school.

    I was lucky enough to have gotten stung my first time when…. well I was most likely 12 or 13 the first time I was stung by a red wasp. Actually, that was the first time I had ever been stung period. I can’t quite remember where the affected area had been, but I do remember what it felt like. You know those huge grass burs that are amazingly sharp for having grown out of the ground and that stick to everything. Well, when I was stung it felt like I had sat on one that had long since been dead, through a very thick pair of pants.

    It took a moment to realize I had even been stung! I happened to look just in time as the wasp clumsily flew away. I looked down (we are going to just name a part of my person) at my arm and saw a red spot where I had felt the tiny prick. I was with my mom and we were driving. I looked at my arm, over to my mom, at my arm again and in a very confused manner said, “Uh.. Mom. I think… I think a wasp just stung me.” She looked over at me curiously and when we got home she in fact pronounced it as a sting. The next day you could hardly discern where the mark even was. I’ve been stung only a few times since then and it’s had the same affect every time. My sisters hate to believe that stings affect me so little, but there has to be one exception to the rule, right?  I mean everybody in my family can’t be highly allergic to bees, if that were so then there would be nobody to pick up the pieces if disaster were to strike. I was never any help when they were stung anyways…. oh well.

    So, the other day I wake up early, early morning and find a small, black mass on my wall by my bed. I freaked out for a moment because I was half asleep and I wasn’t wearing my glasses. However, I stared at it long enough and saw that it was a red wasp just chillin on my wall. I keep it pretty cold in my room when I sleep and I believe he was just there enjoying the breeze. I feel back to sleep not at all concerned. He was there the next morning and then the next. So what did I do?

    Naturally, I took a picture of him (that I will post later) and wrote about him on facebook. Wasp stings don’t hurt me, he had only moved a few inches in the last three days, so I did what any sane person would have done. I named him Armond. I tell him goodnight and good morning and we just go about our hours not bothering the other. 

     I’m not sure why he stayed on my wall in that spot as long as he did, but I think he was just watching over me while I was sleeping. I woke up this morning and he was still there, but I looked for him a little while ago and found that he was gone. Don’t worry! I checked all my pillows and covers and didn’t find him. I believe his job here is done and he has moved on.  But for about a week I had a little wasp friend that watched over me. Fly on Armond. You shall be missed.Armond

Author: FountainPenHandwriting

I love to read, watch tv, write, play sports, listen to music. I'm pretty much an average person. I have an insanely large family, but I love them all. I started this blog to get me back into the habit of writing everyday which I stopped doing for many different reasons. I do try to live up to what I tell people and what I project into the world. I can't promise to be interesting, funny, or, yes, even creative, but here we go anyway.

1 thought on “A Small Unusual New Friend”

Leave a Reply

